Award from the National Association of Teachers of Singing

Zachary is delighted to have been awarded second place in the 2019 Art Song Composition Awards from the National Association of Teachers of Singing. The award is for his Parlo(u)r Songs, commissioned and premiered by Tony Boutté and the New American Voices Project at Sam Houston State University.

Philip Lasser won first place in the Awards for his piece “Elemental Earth.”

"When There Is Peace" on CBC Music

CBC Music has made a recording of Zachary’s When There Is Peace available on their website. This premiere performance includes Chor Leoni (directed by Erick Lichte), the Borealis String Quartet, soprano Arwen Myers, tenor Lawrence Wiliford, and percussionists Martin Fisk and Robin Reid. Click here to listen to the piece, and click here for a program book with the piece’s libretto by Peter Rothstein and Erick Lichte.

New album: FRESH


The Chronos Vocal Ensemble, led by Jordan Van Biert, have just released FRESH, an album of new choral music by Canadian composers. The album includes Zachary's Three Lacquer Prints, along with music by Andrew Balfour, Nicholas Ryan Kelly, Matthew Emery, David Archer, Guillaume Boulay, Tawnie Olson, Peter-Anthony Togni, Alex Eddington, Kathleen Allan, Stuart Beatch, and Jocelyn Morlock.

Click here for more information, or to order.