In Angustiis

In Angustiis


for violin and piano (6')

Add PDF to Cart

Completed in January, 2017.

Dedicated to Joana Genova. World premiere on February 3, 2017 by Joana Genova (violin) and Zachary Wadsworth (piano).


In Angustiis (“in anguish”) is a meditation on feelings of political disillusionment. In the opening, a musing and meditative piano line floats disconnected from a long violin melody. The two instruments grow through imitation to a roaring climax, and then they die away, sadly passing the husk of an old political tune between them.

This digital download includes a full score and a violin part.